Bone Spring Formation

Bone Spring Formation:

The Bone Spring consists of three zones on the Texas & New Mexico.  Mostly made of sandstone, there is some shale as well. It lies between the Delaware and Wolfcamp. The upper layer is combined with the Avalon Shale.  Next lies the middle (or 2nd) bone spring, then the last (or 3rd) bone spring.

Located: New Mexico (Chaves, Eddy & Lea)

Texas: (Andrews, Culberson, Gaines, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Loving, Pecos, Reeves, Ward & Winkler)

Depth: 14,000-14,800 feet.

Bone Spring Formation